Canadian, Filipino Bowlers Win 2003 AMF World Cup

Shannon Pluhowsky, USA, 2 games to 0 (210-160, 234-225)

Suarez, who missed making the cut to the quarterfinals last year by two pins, avenged himself this year. – From: Planeta Sipango Bowling Center

AMF Bowling Worldwide Inc., the founder and principal sponsor of the Bowling World Cup, is the world’s largest owner and operator of bowling centers. Suarez, Philippines, d. More information about AMF is available on the Internet at

- Date: Saturday, October 4, 2003

- Event: 2003 AMF Bowling World Cup, Tegucigalpa, Honduras

39th AMF World Cup, September 27-October 4, Planeta Sipango, Tegucigalpa, Honduras Final results – Women: Kerrie Ryan-Ciach, Canada, d. 6, 2003–Kerrie Ryan-Ciach of Canada upset defending women’s champion Shannon Pluhowsky of the USA 2 games to 0 to win the women’s 2003 AMF Bowling World Cup title, while C.J.

Ryan-Ciach, a 32-year-old from Ontario who works in her family’s business, rolled games of 210 and 234 to foil Pluhowsky, who carded games of 160 and 225.

“I was sick earlier this week, and whatever the medical technicians gave me to cure the fever worked,” Ryan-Ciach said. Suarez of the Philippines downed Marcel van den Bosch by the same margin in the men’s division. Pluhowsky was trying to become the second person ever to win back-to-back World Cup titles. “I was back to normal after two days and able to stay on top of my game. I was so focused I didn’t even realize where we were in the last game until the 10th frame.”

“I can’t believe this is happening!” Suarez said. I am hopeful that this victory will cause our national sports commission to give bowling even more attention and more support now.”

NOTE TO EDITORS: A high-resolution image is available at:

. The 24-year-old IT consultant and businessman seemingly stunned himself and his coach-father, Teody, by dropping van den Bosch 205-202 and 232-209. AMF is also a leader in the manufacturing and marketing of bowling and billiards products. “I am so proud to be the first bowler from our country to win this title since 1996.

Final results- Men: C.J. Marcel van den Bosch, Netherlands, 2 games to 0 (205-202, 232-209)


Leave a Reply